

Commonwealth of Massachusetts

STATE RECLAMATION AND MOSQUITO CONTROL BOARD

NORTHEAST MASSACHUSETTS MOSQUITO CONTROL AND WETLANDS MANAGEMENT DISTRICT 118 Tenney Street Georgetown, MA 01833 Phone: (978) 352-2800 www.nemassmosquito.org



<u>Operations</u> Barry Noone: District Director Kimberly A. Foss: Entomologist Robyn A. Januszewski: IT Coordinator / Biologist Steven Przyjemski: Wetlands Project Coordinator <u>Commissioners</u> John W. Morris, CHO: Chair Vincent J. Russo, MD, MPH: Vice Chair Paul Sevigny, RS, CHO Joseph T. Giarrusso, Conservation Officer Rosemary Decie, RS

Northeast Massachusetts Mosquito Control and Wetlands Management District (NEMMC) Commissioner's Meeting June 15, 2023.

Pursuant to an Order Suspending Certain Provisions of G.L. c. 30A, § 20 issued by the Governor on March 12, 2020, amended on July 16, 2022. This meeting is being held in-person with public Zoom access.

In attendance: Chairman John Morris, Commissioners Vincent Russo, Joseph Giarrusso, Paul Sevigny, and Rosemary Decie. District Director Barry Noone, Fiscal Adviser John Moak, Office Manager Jennifer Sforza, Field Crew Supervisor Andrew Sheehan, and via Zoom access I.T. Coordinator Robyn Januszewski.

- 1. Call to order Meeting called to order by John Morris at 9:08 AM
- 2. Review and approval of May 18, 2023, minutes
 - a) Moved: Paul Sevigny
 - b) Second: Joseph Giarrusso
 - c) Vote: unanimous (Decie abstain)
- 3. Employee Handbook Approval

Commissioners reviewed the draft and Chairman Morris reiterated majority of changes were housekeeping items. Mr. Russo inquired if staff reviewed the draft? Mr. Noone stated staff had and some provided feedback for further editing.

Motion: To approve the proposed Northeast Massachusetts Mosquito Control and Wetlands Management District employee handbook as written and attached to the motion.

- a) Moved: Vincent Russo
- b) Second: Paul Sevigny
- c) Vote: unanimous
- 4. FY2024 Certification

Mr. Noone stated the SRB met on 5/31/23 and our proposed FY24 budget was certified. He noted that NEMMC had originally requested a 3% increase, however due to lack of vehicles and ongoing unfilled positions, that a 2% increase would be sufficient. Member municipality administrators were mailed notification of the change with updated cherry sheet figures.

5. Update on Commissioner Meeting Stipends

- Committed to a partnership of the principles of mosquito control and wetland management -

District Director Noone updated the Commissioner's with the approved rate of reimbursement. At the 5/31/23 SRM meeting a motion was approved to increase the stipend to \$160.00 per meeting.

6. Update on Hiring Process

Mr. Noone briefly went over Mr. Jake Freitas, a seasonal hire, beginning work on 6/20/23. Mr. Moak mentioned a concern on how openings are posted. Discussion on the concern and options to correct or work around how the posting are listing through the state. Possible sign on bonus discussed to bring attention to the job. Another area of concern is that the positions cannot be worked virtually, which many applicants are looking for. Currently NEMMC still has a full time Assistant Field Technician opening and could still hire 2 more seasonal employees.

7. Update on Legislation S445 & H845

Mr. Noone went over a brief summary of each. Ultimately, parts of the task force recommendations that did not pass, are being brought as new bills. Discussion on reasons why these are coming forward, who will monitor status as each are heard again. Mr. Morris would like to be updated so the Commissioners may provide testimony. Mr. Noone will provide information as he receives it.

8. Other Business

Mr. Noone went over operational updates, green head trap deployment, tire collection events and the start of catch basins. Commissioners would like a get together with staff before getting too far into the season, date set for July 13th. Mr. Noone updated Commissioners with time out of office through the end of the month.

Next meeting set for October 12, 2023, at 0900.

- 9. Public Comment None
- 10. Motion to adjourn Moved: Joseph Giarrusso Second: Paul Sevigny Vote: Unanimous